Encyclopaedia Metallum: The Metal Archives

Message board

* FAQ    * Register   * Login 

Reply to topic
Author Message Previous topic | Next topic
BastardHead
Worse than Stalin

PostPosted: Tue Jun 11, 2019 11:19 pm 

Welcome, welcome everybody! I know we all have lots of fun with the Album of the Year poll that I've been running since 2016, so it stands to reason that it would be twice the fun to do it twice, no? So with that in mind, I present to you all:

THE ENCYCLOPAEDIA METALLUM MID YEAR OFF TOPIC POLL

Now before we even get started, I want to make one thing clear right off the bat. That's that the rules will be loosened for the mid year poll (since I also plan to make this a recurring thing). I'll explain the changes as we go, but the general idea is that this will be much more relaxed, much more informal, and I'll be less of a dickhead during the runup.

THE CATEGORY IS "BEST BLACK METAL RELEASES OF ALL TIME"
There's really only one way for this to work without excessive moderation, because black metal is such a diverse genre and there are tons of hairline splits between factions of people who think x is black metal and y isn't, and I'm just not going to sit here and play cop to determine what does and doesn't qualify by my own personal standards. So no, the rule for eligibility is if the word "black" is in their genre field on their MA page, they are eligible, and I'll just have to accept that there will be some bullshit. That means pure black metal counts, as does any other hybrid. Black/death, black/doom, experimental avant-garde atmospheric post-black/sludge, whatever, it's all in the running. All I can ask is that you guys use your best judgment and try to keep your votes in the spirit of the poll. Like, I know that technically Sodom is eligible by this rules because of their early material, but come on don't be that dick who votes for Agent Orange. I trust you guys to vote in good faith, but it needs to be said anyway.