Encyclopaedia Metallum: The Metal Archives

Message board

* FAQ    * Search   * Register   * Login 

This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.
Author Message Previous topic | Next topic
BastardHead
Worse than Stalin

PostPosted: Mon Jun 01, 2020 10:49 am 

Welcome, welcome everybody! I know we all have lots of fun with the Album of the Year poll that I've been running since 2016, so it stands to reason that it would be twice the fun to do it twice, no? So with that in mind, I present to you all:

THE ENCYCLOPAEDIA METALLUM MID YEAR OFF TOPIC POLL

Now before we even get started, I want to make one thing clear right off the bat. That's that the rules will be loosened for the mid year poll. I'll explain the changes as we go, but the general idea is that this will be much more relaxed, much more informal, and I'll be less of a dickhead during the runup.

THE CATEGORY IS "ALBUM OF THE DECADE"
Y'all knew this one was coming and I'm incredibly excited to finally get this show on the road. Eligibility this time is obvious, anything released within the span of time of January 1st, 2010 through December 31st, 2019. Ten whole years of great releases to choose from, and extra fun since I only started the AOTY polls in 2016 so there are six whole years with no data for us to reference MA's favorites. So much of this will be new for all of us, and I'm stoked to see how the community comes together here.

You should all know the rules by now, but as a refresher, all you need to do is:

Select your top ten:
This is very easy, all you need to do is choose your top ten albums of the decade.

PM your top ten, in order, to me, BastardHead:
It's that simple, just make a top ten and send it to me, I'll take care of all the number crunching nonsense!

What happens next is that I will assign each position a point value, grand prix style, so that first place votes are seen as more valuable than second place, and so on. The point values are as follows: