Message board

* FAQ    * Search   * Register   * Login 

Reply to topic
Author Message Previous topic | Next topic
darkeningday
xXdArKenIngDayXx

PostPosted: Thu Sep 22, 2011 7:49 pm 

http://www.reuters.com/article/2011/09/ ... CW20110922

As I've no extensive knowledge of physics I'm not entirely certain to what degree these findings will impact the institution of physics or science in general. Still, this is a (potentially) huge discovery and certainly shakes a pretty well established tenant to its core.

Since the "physics major" thread generated a pretty sizable discussion here, it'd be great if a few the more knowledgeable folk could spell out in laymen's terms what effect these findings could have on the scientific community. Will this be a "ground-up" restructuring, or just a wallpaper change?

Oblarg
Veteran

PostPosted: Thu Sep 22, 2011 7:50 pm 

Most likely this is false and there was something wrong with the experiment.

If not, CERN just broke special relativity and everything we know about modern physics is essentially wrong.

Animicantus
Metalhead

PostPosted: Thu Sep 22, 2011 9:36 pm 

Oblarg wrote:
Most likely this is false and there was something wrong with the experiment.

If not, CERN just broke special relativity and everything we know about modern physics is essentially wrong.

Should be interesting. Can't wait to see if this is an error or not.

defyexistance wrote:
It also sounds like he says "The raven licks my asshole" as the first vocal line there. It never fails to crack me up.

Thashierthanthou
Not Semi-Witty Enough for his Own Title

PostPosted: Thu Sep 22, 2011 9:38 pm 

So... In laymans terms, E no longer equals MC^2?

They should have talked about why failsafeman sucks!

Oblarg
Veteran

PostPosted: Thu Sep 22, 2011 9:46 pm 

Thashierthanthou wrote:

...If this is true.

~Guest 226319
President Satan

PostPosted: Thu Sep 22, 2011 9:53 pm 

E could still equal MC^2, but there are no patrol cars enforcing C anymore.

Animicantus