Encyclopaedia Metallum: The Metal Archives

Message board

* FAQ    * Register   * Login 

Reply to topic
Author Message Previous topic | Next topic
darkentries
Mallcore Kid

PostPosted: Thu Jun 06, 2013 12:20 am 

is anyone here into prog or kraut rock or early electronic.
Ime almost as much of a fan of prog as I am metal
bands like:
VDGG
eloy
grobschnitt
Klaus schulze
mona lisa
ange
peter hammill
pink Floyd
heldon
king crimson
yes
genesis
camel
nectar
soft machine
and many many more
Ime listening to heaps of French prog at the moment,its very obscure and underrated

Cthulhu_Fhtagn
Metal newbie

PostPosted: Thu Jun 06, 2013 2:41 am 

Well, I'm just getting into space rock like Hawkwind.

Crick wrote:
The first one is silly because it's got such dainty eyelashes, yet the guy is terrified. NOT THE MASCARA, CTHULHU! ANYTHING BUT THE MASCARA!

Zerberus
Metalhead

PostPosted: Thu Jun 06, 2013 3:09 am 

I consider myself a fan of both progressive rock and kraut rock. I mostly listen to these:
Spock's Beard (I absolutely adore their newest album, Brief Nocturnes and Dreamless Sleep. They sound a lot like a more symphonic Rush, and it works so well. Brilliant songwriting right there)
Rush (Actually got into them through Clockwork Angels from 2012. Great album)
Emerson, Lake & Palmer (Brain Salad Surgery! Need I say more?)
King Crimson
Can
Kraftwerk
Uriah Heep
Flower Travellin' Band (early 70's Japanese hard rock band with a few prog elements)
Hawkwind
Tangerine Dream
Magma (Weird french band. Originators of the Zeuhl subgenre. Very concept oriented)
Astra (Some of the best space rock every. Definitely check out The Black Chord album)
The Budos Band (not a prog band per se, but they have a rather special take on funk rock)
Alan Parsons Project
Ozric Tentacles (Probably some of the more weird prog rock out there... Mainly instrumental music, and it's greeeat)
Goblin (that Italian band that made the music for Suspiria)
Yes
Early Deep Purple