Message board

* FAQ    * Register   * Login 

Reply to topic
Author Message Previous topic | Next topic
EzraBlumenfeld
Metalhead

PostPosted: Thu Jul 04, 2019 3:59 pm 

Hi,

I know Soen was, in the past, categorized as being predominantly progressive rock but that their latest album has not been evaluated. Can some mods give it a listen?

https://open.spotify.com/album/16v3Ule2sTTWT37VKUsH6F

Thank you!

BEGRAVEMENT - 'Horrific Illusions Beckon' out now!

Midnight Rider
Metalhead

PostPosted: Thu Jul 04, 2019 4:36 pm 

It's a no from me.

The Alternative Metal/Rock/Prog Rock side easily outweighs the Metal moments.

PDS
The Folk One

PostPosted: Thu Jul 04, 2019 6:10 pm 

Soen still def in the prog rock sphere than the prog metal sphere. Good band, just not metal.
I dunno, I'm a guitarist and it always feels like playing a giant cock. Not just that but live music should hit you in the genitals. It might not if you don't use good amplifiers and your modelling shit goes straight out of the PA. But good music hits you HARD in the GENITALS.

MattHells
Mallcore Kid

PostPosted: Tue Jan 21, 2020 9:15 pm 

From Lykaia (2017) to this day, after releasing their 4th album, Lotus (2019), Soen has become heavier and definitely Metal enough to be called "Metal". But here are some heavy evidence:

1. On the official website, this is how the band describes itself and its biography:

Quote:
Initially formed in 2004, it was in May 2010 that the formation of Soen was officially announced. Funding member drummer Martin Lopez describes Soen’s music as “melodic, heavy and intricate”

Quote:
2012’s Cognitive beat a firmly heavy, progressive metal path, before 2014’s Tellurian saw Soen start to stride freely into their own power and unique visions. Their third offering, Lykaia, was a conceptual journey exploring earthier places.