Message board

* FAQ    * Register   * Login 

Reply to topic
Author Message Previous topic | Next topic
~Guest 334273
Veteran

PostPosted: Tue Mar 27, 2018 6:47 am 

Hi all!

I've been playing constantly for 7 years and while i'm happy with the level i've reached, i'm trying to take it a bit further... and here the problems start

I can play correctly tough stuff like later Death, Dissection, Kreator.. but recently i tried Born by Nevermore and my self esteem took a hard hit and fell into oblivion :lol:

The slowing down method worked well other times, but here i feel like i hit a wall. in particular i'm unhappy with my picking clarity (the chorus in particular is pure pain) and i just not have the insane right hand endurance required

So.. to all the fellow guitar nerds, are there exercises or tips you would suggest to try reach the "new level"?

Also.. do you know any song that has difficulty scale above tough but below hand mangling? :)

Edit: fixed some engrish!

Last edited by ~Guest 334273 on Tue Mar 27, 2018 9:45 am, edited 1 time in total.
hakarl
Metel fraek

PostPosted: Tue Mar 27, 2018 8:37 am 

If you want to improve your rhythm skills, jamming Leprous, especially something from The Congregation, is great. It's not hand-manglingly hard, but wrapping your head around some of the rhythms is challenging (and rewarding). Playing the right chords and notes at the right time isn't that difficult, but achieving Suhrke-level clarity and note separation challenges not only your picking and fretting skills, but also your ability to dial your gear in.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GNpNU1jl7Fw

Jeff Loomis' riffs tend to blur the line between lead and rhythm guitar quite a bit. In fact, I'd say most of the things he plays are quite lead-y.

~Guest 334273
Veteran

PostPosted: Tue Mar 27, 2018 9:53 am 

Indeed, it feels like playing lead on thicker strings with a lot of heavy palm muting, it's exhausting