Message board

* FAQ    * Search   * Register   * Login 

Reply to topic
Author Message Previous topic | Next topic
Scuttlegoat
Mallcore Kid

PostPosted: Wed Apr 10, 2019 2:26 pm 

Hey guys! First post on the forum.

After a lot of frustration wuth bandmates and just being a classical guitarist for a while, I decided that I want to start a bedroom project. I do own an audio interface and plan on getting reaper as a daw.

But since I have never written music completely on my own before, I am kinda stumped. I have riff ideas, I have lyric ideas and I have a concept for the album in mind. But what exactly is the process of doing it? At this stage, it´s just the writing process. How do you turn these riff ideas into songs, and how do you develop songs from single riff ideas? How do lyrics fit over riffs best?

I know this is a very broad question, but I am just starting out at the moment. So any advice into the right direction is heavily appreciated! Maybe theres even some resources on the forum which I haven´t found yet, which you could point me to. Or youtube videos, I am pretty much open to anything.

Thanks in advance. I hope to stick around for a while.

DecemberSoul
Metalhead

PostPosted: Fri Apr 12, 2019 3:30 am 

Be glad you're born with a free mind and will. Try, experiment, evaluate, reflect, keep trying and working. Listen and learn, learn and listen. This should be fun and satisfying as in reaching states of creative flow.
No, I'm not giving you recipes. Do your own work, use your imagination and explore what drives and motivates you. Find your fortes and limits, and see if they and you change over time along with your creative processes.
This is not a job you're applyîng for and no one's pointing a gun to your head.

RichardDeBenthall
Metal newbie

PostPosted: Fri Apr 12, 2019 8:29 am