Encyclopaedia Metallum: The Metal Archives

Message board

* FAQ    * Register   * Login 

Reply to topic
Author Message Previous topic | Next topic
KrigareTjovane
Metalhead

PostPosted: Tue Aug 20, 2019 3:01 am 

I'm literally incapable of playing anything else. When I started playing guitar long ago I ate breathed and shat thrash metal, so naturally I learned a ton of thrash songs. In a way I feel like I've done the whole damn thing wrong. Like my technique was doomed to fail from the start, like I'm broken. If I could distill my playing style into one descriptor, it'd be 'Jeff Waters' riffs without the snazzy leads', and I'd love to branch out and learn a different style for a change.

Obviously the easy answer here is "learn songs in a different genre you stupid jerk!" but I'm curious if anybody else has had an issue like this.

aloof
avant-gardener

PostPosted: Tue Aug 20, 2019 8:36 pm 

if you can actually play JW rhythm guitar, you are in an enviable position. for each rhythm guitarist who can play battery properly, there's a hundred shredders with snazzy leads. stick to what you know, write good riffs and be a legend! \m/

at the gaytes
Metalhead

PostPosted: Wed Aug 21, 2019 3:34 pm 

What do you mean? From a guitar technique perspective, there's not much difference between Slayer, Sepultura or Sodom to Deicide, Morbid Angel, Mayhem, Immortal etc. Unless you are trying to play something very technical or progressive

FxIx
Mallcore Kid

PostPosted: Thu Aug 22, 2019 12:09 pm 

Do you think it's really your technique that's a problem? Or, creatively, is it difficult for you to get out of that thrash head space when you write/play?

In terms of others with a similar problem, my mind goes straight to this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ADoMfL78Mcc

KrigareTjovane
Metalhead

PostPosted: Fri Aug 23, 2019 5:42 pm 

aloof wrote: