Encyclopaedia Metallum: The Metal Archives

Message board

* FAQ    * Register   * Login 

Reply to topic
Author Message Previous topic | Next topic
~Guest 180699
Metal newbie

PostPosted: Tue Apr 28, 2020 6:16 pm 

I'd like to start learning keyboard and would definitely appreciate any advice or recommendations. I am a decent guitarist but a complete novice with the keyboard. Im looking to make dungeon synth, symphonic black metal type music so first of all should I even get a keyboard or just use a program like reaper or pro tools? Ideally I'd like to mix everything with reaper so would it be better to have an actual keyboard or just use programs? And if it's programs you recommend what ones in particular for the keyboard?

As far as actual keyboards first and foremost I'm looking for something cheap since I don't know how to play it yet. Ideally I'd like something cheap that can easily interact with programs like reaper to make whatever sounds I need, low fi is fine. I'd love one of those lighted keyboards that teach you how to play by following the lit up keys but that's probably not too feasible with my current keyboard goals. Anyways looking forward to anyone sharing their knowledge on the subject, thanks!

AllHallowsEve5305
Mallcore Kid

PostPosted: Fri May 29, 2020 2:05 am 

I've been playing the keyboard on and off for about 8 years now, I haven't really invested in a keyboard, but I try to get ones that that are all-in-one at a good price, so I think I can help
I would recommend Yamaha PSR keyboards
They tend to have a very wide range of synths and others sounds
I have a PSR-170 from 2001 that I got used for 30 bucks
It was my first, and is still my favorite
It has MIDI and all that jazz, output too
Built in metronome
Teaches you how to play, no light up keys, but a solution would be to get stickers to put on the keys that show you what note it is