Encyclopaedia Metallum: The Metal Archives

Message board

* FAQ    * Search   * Register   * Login 

Reply to topic
Author Message Previous topic | Next topic
Korpgud
Metal newbie

PostPosted: Fri Jul 24, 2020 2:50 am 

I've already asked this question in my other thread "black metal bass noob question", but I'm hoping I can get more tips here.

I'm a bass noob so I know nothing about which instrument to acquire. I'll be recording black metal and death metal via line-in on my computer. I guess the tone of the bass itself wouldn't be the most important part since I can just pick an amp in the software. But what other things should I look out for? A bass that doesn't untune itself too quickly? Are there any brands that produce decent bass guitars that don't cost a fortune?

Jabawock
Metal newbie

PostPosted: Fri Jul 24, 2020 5:16 am 

Even if it is through DI only, I think the tone is still important. The cheapest entry-level basses tend to sound thin and plasticky, and you can't fully compensate for this with just some plugins. It's different from a guitar, because in extreme metal the guitar is so saturated/compressed that the actual tone of the instrument is much less audible than on bass, where a portion of the dry signal is usually still preserved in the mix.

Personally, I always recommend the Ibanez SR500 as the best, all around, low budget bass guitar. It's nothing spectacular, but it has a pretty solid tone and takes effects really well. The neck is also very comfortable, very easy to play. You can find one for around 300€ used here in Europe.
For the same budget, if you can find an ATK300, especially an older Japanese one, they sound even better in my opinion. But the look is a bit weird maybe.

Awblaster
Metalhead

PostPosted: Fri Jul 24, 2020 10:22 am 

I'd recommend getting a second-hand Fender Jazz, if your budget can stretch to it. Totally solid, sound great, it's hard to go wrong.