Message board

* FAQ    * Register   * Login 

Reply to topic
Author Message Previous topic | Next topic
hahan
Mallcore Kid

PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2022 10:47 pm 

Hi all,
I've been learning guitar playing on and off for several months now.
but I really struggle with gallop picking.
At a very low speed, I count the beat in my head and can do it.
but at slightly higher speeds, I can't keep counting and I totally lose the rhythm.
I researched online. It seems all the advice is to 1 start slow and build up speed , 2 keep wrist relaxed.
but I found they don't help me as much.
I wonder if someone has experience, tips or anything to share.
I'd very much appreciate it.
Thanks

coupdebleus
Metal newbie

PostPosted: Fri Jul 29, 2022 3:52 am 

There's a lot of things that could be going wrong, it's impossible to assess it without watching you play. You could try uploading a video, though the ideal solution would likely be having a real life teacher to correct your technique.

~Guest 334273
Veteran

PostPosted: Fri Jul 29, 2022 5:59 am 

coupdebleus wrote:
There's a lot of things that could be going wrong, it's impossible to assess it without watching you play. You could try uploading a video, though the ideal solution would likely be having a real life teacher to correct your technique.

This is the best answer.

i can give only an anecdote on how i learned to do it, take it with a big grain of salt: the three riffs that taught me are Iron Maiden's Phantom of the Opera one at 4:33 (where i first encountered the technique) the first one of Crystal Mountain (for me this was the eureka moment that made me figure out how to do the right hand movement at faster tempo, even if its just a single short burst in this case) and finally the Raining Blood one at 0:44 (took me a bloody lot of time to take up to speed, but it's easy to count)

mind that i was playing for 2 years when i first attempted the Crystal Mountain and Raining Blood ones

Element_man
Metalhead